Jump to content

Utilizzare oggetti magici


emmeuno
 Share

Recommended Posts

rileggendo meglio le regole non ho capito bene una cosa...

l'abilità utilizzare oggetti magici si usa nel caso in cui un pg non abbia la capacità di lanciare incantesimi, cioè un mago o uno stregone sono sempre in grado di utilizzare una bacchetta o bastone senza nessun tiro?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Replies 79
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

  • Administrators

Sono in grado di utilizzarli se conoscono l'ipotetica parola di attivazione (se usi le parole di attivazione) e se l'incantesimo dell'oggetto è sula loro lista... un mago/stregone non può utilizzare una bacchetta di cura ferite se non ha Utilizzare Oggetti Magici.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Ah si? :shock:

Io sapevo che solo chi ha l'abilità (quindi ladri e bardi se nn erro..) potevano usare gli oggetti magici.

Da mago non li ho mai usati. Ma quindi se trovo una bacchetta di "Cura ferite Moderato" e io sono Chierico posso usare la bacchetta?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

rileggendo meglio le regole non ho capito bene una cosa...

l'abilità utilizzare oggetti magici si usa nel caso in cui un pg non abbia la capacità di lanciare incantesimi, cioè un mago o uno stregone sono sempre in grado di utilizzare una bacchetta o bastone senza nessun tiro?

L'abilità in questione è esclusiva solo per bardi e ladri.. sono le uniche 2 classi che possono usarla!

la usi per attivare oggetti magici (bacchette, pergamene), leggere un incantesimo..

es. un ladro che vuole lanciare una pergamena deve fare questa prova...

in pratica la prova ti consente di emulare le caratteristiche che non hai per attivare/lanciare l'oggetto... razza, INT, scacciare nn morti...

il ladro del mio gruppo se trova una pergamena e vuole leggerla tira la prova di abilità con CD 25 + liv incantesimo.. per decifrarla.. poi la lancia emulando l'incantesimo contenuto in essa come se lo avesse nella sua lista!

la stessa cosa che un mago farebbe con sap magica!

è chiaro tutti sono in grado di usare una verga...

ma per un ladro o bardo, per attivare un inc che risiede in una pergamena oppure una bacchetta è necessario emulare l'incantesimo, con Util Ogg Magici...

in quanto come regola generale per attivare perga o bacchette bisogna avere l'incantesimo nelle'elenco di classe...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Di sicuro con srd si vede subito, ma inanzitutto con la 3.5 non esistono più abilità esclusive ed Usare Ogg. Magici è accessibile anche alle altre classi standard (benché non sia abilità di classe).

Per utilizzare ogg. magici che attivano inc., salvo descrizione dell'ogg. magico occorre che l'utente incantatore abbia nella sua lista quell'inc. che nell'ogg. è immagazzinato (quindi un chierico può usare le banchette di cura) altrimenti deve ricorrere all'abilità suddetta (sempre che ce l'abbia).

La parola magica per le bacchette è solo per un fatto scenico et opzionale, che se siamo fiscali occorre (salvo uso tramite l'abilità) saperla proprio e in questi casi può tornare utile un identificare (o magari combinare ind. del magico con lett. del magico..altrimenti i chierici son fregati!)... :?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

quindi i pg trovano una bacchetta dei fulmini...

ladro e bardo usano l'abilità usare oggetti magici cd 25+3(liv inc.) ogni volta...un mago identifica l'incatesimo contenuto e poi è in grado di usarla quando vuole senza nessun tiro?

Certo!

A meno che il mago in questione non abbia come scuola opposta invocazione (dato che il fulmine appartiene a quella scuola!)... ma ci dovrebbe essere sul MdelMaster, o altrimenti c'è sempre srd! :wink:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Certo. Ladri e bardi (nella 3.0) oppure tutte le classi con almenop un punto in Utilizzare oggetti magici (3.5) possono fare la relativa prova, mentre un mago, grazie all'incantesimo Lettura del magico se si tratta di una pergamena o Identificare altrimenti, identifica quell'oggetto e se l'incantesimo è nella sua lista ed è in grado di lanciarlo lo usa senza bisogno di fare alcuna prova.

Ora sinceramente non ricordo come funziona se l'incantesimo è nella tua lista ma non sei ANCORA in grado di lanciarlo, mi pare debba fare una serie di prove ma non ci metterei la mano sul fuoco. Ad esempio per la pergamena mi ricordo che se l'incantesimo ancora non eri in grado di lanciarlo dovevi fare una serie di prove (mi pare di Sapienza magica) e se le prove fallivano la pregamena poteva anche avere un "malfunzionamento" (tipo se era una pergamena di Palla di fuoco ti esplodeva in mano invece che andare sul bersaglio o cose del genere)

... anche se io con una pergamena di Palla di fuoco malfunzionante un'infiammazione ai testicoli del mago gliela farei venire volentieri ... :twisted::twisted:

Ah si? :shock:

Io sapevo che solo chi ha l'abilità (quindi ladri e bardi se nn erro..) potevano usare gli oggetti magici.

Da mago non li ho mai usati. Ma quindi se trovo una bacchetta di "Cura ferite Moderato" e io sono Chierico posso usare la bacchetta?

:shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock:

Wolf mi cadi cosi ...[-( [-( [-( [-(

Credevo che un vecchio lupo come te certe cose le sapesse ... :roll::roll::wink:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

:shock::shock::shock::shock::shock::shock:

Wolf mi cadi cosi ...[-( [-( [-( [-(

Credevo che un vecchio lupo come te certe cose le sapesse ... :roll::roll::wink:

Premetto che gioco alla 3.0 io..e cmq è colpa di Gigared, che non mi ha mai lasciato. Cioè, se trovo pergamene Divine quelle le uso, ma per le baccheette e simili dovevo avere l'abilità.. :evil:

A parte che ne avrò trovata una in tutti questi anni di gioco di ruolo :mrgreen:

non si è letto il manuale............................

E certo che non me lo sono letto: non ce l'ho!!! :evil::evil::evil:

Però ora, grazie al forum e alla gente che GENTILMENTE RISPONDE ho imparato la regola giusta!!!! :twisted::twisted::twisted::twisted::twisted::twisted::twisted:

:wink:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

USING ITEMS

To use a magic item, it must be activated, although sometimes activation simply means putting a ring on your finger. Some items, once donned, function constantly. In most cases, using an item requires a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity. By contrast, spell completion items are treated like spells in combat and do provoke attacks of opportunity.

Activating a magic item is a standard action unless the item description indicates otherwise. However, the casting time of a spell is the time required to activate the same power in an item, regardless of the type of magic item, unless the item description specifically states otherwise.

The four ways to activate magic items are described below.

Spell Completion: This is the activation method for scrolls. A scroll is a spell that is mostly finished. The preparation is done for the caster, so no preparation time is needed beforehand as with normal spellcasting. All that’s left to do is perform the finishing parts of the spellcasting (the final gestures, words, and so on). To use a spell completion item safely, a character must be of high enough level in the right class to cast the spell already. If he can’t already cast the spell, there’s a chance he’ll make a mistake. Activating a spell completion item is a standard action and provokes attacks of opportunity exactly as casting a spell does.

Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it’s even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Anyone with a spell on his or her spell list knows how to use a spell trigger item that stores that spell. (This is the case even for a character who can’t actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin.) The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

Command Word: If no activation method is suggested either in the magic item description or by the nature of the item, assume that a command word is needed to activate it. Command word activation means that a character speaks the word and the item activates. No other special knowledge is needed.

A command word can be a real word, but when this is the case, the holder of the item runs the risk of activating the item accidentally by speaking the word in normal conversation. More often, the command word is some seemingly nonsensical word, or a word or phrase from an ancient language no longer in common use. Activating a command word magic item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

Sometimes the command word to activate an item is written right on the item. Occasionally, it might be hidden within a pattern or design engraved on, carved into, or built into the item, or the item might bear a clue to the command word.

The Knowledge (arcana) and Knowledge (history) skills might be useful in helping to identify command words or deciphering clues regarding them. A successful check against DC 30 is needed to come up with the word itself. If that check is failed, succeeding on a second check (DC 25) might provide some insight into a clue.

The spells identify and analyze dweomer both reveal command words.

Use Activated: This type of item simply has to be used in order to activate it. A character has to drink a potion, swing a sword, interpose a shield to deflect a blow in combat, look through a lens, sprinkle dust, wear a ring, or don a hat. Use activation is generally straightforward and self-explanatory.

Many use-activated items are objects that a character wears. Continually functioning items are practically always items that one wears. A few must simply be in the character’s possession (on his person). However, some items made for wearing must still be activated. Although this activation sometimes requires a command word (see above), usually it means mentally willing the activation to happen. The description of an item states whether a command word is needed in such a case.

Unless stated otherwise, activating a use-activated magic item is either a standard action or not an action at all and does not provoke attacks of opportunity, unless the use involves performing an action that provokes an attack of opportunity in itself. If the use of the item takes time before a magical effect occurs, then use activation is a standard action. If the item’s activation is subsumed in its use and takes no extra time use activation is not an action at all.

Use activation doesn’t mean that if you use an item, you automatically know what it can do. You must know (or at least guess) what the item can do and then use the item in order to activate it, unless the benefit of the item comes automatically, such from drinking a potion or swinging a sword.

------------

USE MAGIC DEVICE (CHA; TRAINED ONLY)

Use this skill to activate magic

Check: You can use this skill to read a spell or to activate a magic item. Use Magic Device lets you use a magic item as if you had the spell ability or class features of another class, as if you were a different race, or as if you were of a different alignment.

You make a Use Magic Device check each time you activate a device such as a wand. If you are using the check to emulate an alignment or some other quality in an ongoing manner, you need to make the relevant Use Magic Device check once per hour.

You must consciously choose which requirement to emulate. That is, you must know what you are trying to emulate when you make a Use Magic Device check for that purpose. The DCs for various tasks involving Use Magic Device checks are summarized on the table below.

Task Use Magic Device DC

Activate blindly 25

Decipher a written spell 25 + spell level

Use a scroll 20 + caster level

Use a wand 20

Emulate a class feature 20

Emulate an ability score See text

Emulate a race 25

Emulate an alignment 30

Activate Blindly: Some magic items are activated by special words, thoughts, or actions. You can activate such an item as if you were using the activation word, thought, or action, even when you’re not and even if you don’t know it. You do have to perform some equivalent activity in order to make the check. That is, you must speak, wave the item around, or otherwise attempt to get it to activate. You get a special +2 bonus on your Use Magic Device check if you’ve activated the item in question at least once before. If you fail by 9 or less, you can’t activate the device. If you fail by 10 or more, you suffer a mishap. A mishap means that magical energy gets released but it doesn’t do what you wanted it to do. The default mishaps are that the item affects the wrong target or that uncontrolled magical energy is released, dealing 2d6 points of damage to you. This mishap is in addition to the chance for a mishap that you normally run when you cast a spell from a scroll that you could not otherwise cast yourself.

Decipher a Written Spell: This usage works just like deciphering a written spell with the Spellcraft skill, except that the DC is 5 points higher. Deciphering a written spell requires 1 minute of concentration.

Emulate an Ability Score: To cast a spell from a scroll, you need a high score in the appropriate ability (Intelligence for wizard spells, Wisdom for divine spells, or Charisma for sorcerer or bard spells). Your effective ability score (appropriate to the class you’re emulating when you try to cast the spell from the scroll) is your Use Magic Device check result minus 15. If you already have a high enough score in the appropriate ability, you don’t need to make this check.

Emulate an Alignment: Some magic items have positive or negative effects based on the user’s alignment. Use Magic Device lets you use these items as if you were of an alignment of your choice. You can emulate only one alignment at a time.

Emulate a Class Feature: Sometimes you need to use a class feature to activate a magic item. In this case, your effective level in the emulated class equals your Use Magic Device check result minus 20. This skill does not let you actually use the class feature of another class. It just lets you activate items as if you had that class feature. If the class whose feature you are emulating has an alignment requirement, you must meet it, either honestly or by emulating an appropriate alignment with a separate Use Magic Device check (see above).

Emulate a Race: Some magic items work only for members of certain races, or work better for members of those races. You can use such an item as if you were a race of your choice. You can emulate only one race at a time.

Use a Scroll: If you are casting a spell from a scroll, you have to decipher it first. Normally, to cast a spell from a scroll, you must have the scroll’s spell on your class spell list. Use Magic Device allows you to use a scroll as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. The DC is equal to 20 + the caster level of the spell you are trying to cast from the scroll. In addition, casting a spell from a scroll requires a minimum score (10 + spell level) in the appropriate ability. If you don’t have a sufficient score in that ability, you must emulate the ability score with a separate Use Magic Device check (see above).

This use of the skill also applies to other spell completion magic items.

Use a Wand: Normally, to use a wand, you must have the wand’s spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill also applies to other spell trigger magic items, such as staffs.

Action: None. The Use Magic Device check is made as part of the action (if any) required to activate the magic item.

Try Again: Yes, but if you ever roll a natural 1 while attempting to activate an item and you fail, then you can’t try to activate that item again for 24 hours.

Special: You cannot take 10 with this skill.

You can’t aid another on Use Magic Device checks. Only the user of the item may attempt such a check.

If you have the Magical Aptitude feat, you get a +2 bonus on Use Magic Device checks.

Synergy: If you have 5 or more ranks in Spellcraft, you get a +2 bonus on Use Magic Device checks related to scrolls.

If you have 5 or more ranks in Decipher Script, you get a +2 bonus on Use Magic Device checks related to scrolls.

If you have 5 or more ranks in Use Magic Device, you get a +2 bonus to Spellcraft checks made to decipher spells on scrolls.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

ho un dubbio sulle pergamene usate da un ladro... in pratica un ladro può effettuare un tiro in utilizzare oggetti magici per decifrare una pergamena con cd 20+liv incantesimo e poi può lanciare l'incantesimo?

per assurdo con una buona dose di fortuna potrebbe leggere un incantesimo di 9° e lanciarlo anche se è al 10°?

e in tutto questo non fa distinzioni tra arcani e divini?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Administrators

ho un dubbio sulle pergamene usate da un ladro... in pratica un ladro può effettuare un tiro in utilizzare oggetti magici per decifrare una pergamena con cd 20+liv incantesimo e poi può lanciare l'incantesimo?

per assurdo con una buona dose di fortuna potrebbe leggere un incantesimo di 9° e lanciarlo anche se è al 10°?

e in tutto questo non fa distinzioni tra arcani e divini?

Un Ladro può effettuare una prova di Utilizzare Oggetti Magici a CD 25+liv per decifrare lo scritto, e un'altra prova (CD 20 +liv) per lanciarlo. Inoltre, se non ha il punteggio minimo di Int, Sag o Car per lanciarlo, deve effettuare una prova per "emulare" il punteggio di caratteristica.

Esempio: un ladro, per lanciare un'incantesimo da mago di 9o liv, deve fare prima un tiro CD 34 per decifrare lo scritto, poi un tiro CD 34 per emulare il 19 in Int (se non ce l'ha già di suo), poi un tiro CD 29 per lanciarlo. Effettivamente, un ladro di 10mo livello in possesso di una pergamena di 9o e una quantità notevole di fortuna potrebbe farcela.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

avete dimenticato questo:

Emulate an Ability Score: To cast a spell from a scroll, you need a high score in the appropriate ability (Intelligence for wizard spells, Wisdom for divine spells, or Charisma for sorcerer or bard spells). Your effective ability score (appropriate to the class you’re emulating when you try to cast the spell from the scroll) is your Use Magic Device check result minus 15. If you already have a high enough score in the appropriate ability, you don’t need to make this check.

ergo, se devi lanciare un inc di 9o da mago e non hai int 19, devi fare un check con DC 34.

riassumendo:

decifrare: 25+liv

emulare abilita` (eventualmente): 25+liv

lanciare: 20+liv

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Sbagliate tutti, in quanto non è 20 + lv incantesimo ma:

Use a scroll 20 + caster level, quindi 20 + lv dell'incantatore.

Così un ladro di 10° per lanciare una pergamena di sciame di meteore scritta da un mago di 17°, dovrà leggere con cd 34, emulare il punteggio con cd 34 e infine lanciarlo con cd 37. E scusa se è poco.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Administrators

Giusto! Ecco cosa mi sfuggiva! E in teoria, se l'ultimo tiro è per emulare un caster level, ipoteticamente cannare l'ultimo tiro potrebbe portare al mishap, o sbaglio?

in termini di round tutto questo quanto dura? e una cosa fattibile in combatimento?

Decifrare l'incantesimo richiede un minuto di concentrazione; il tiro per attivare la pergamena e gli eventuali tiri di "emulazione caratteristiche" fanno parte dell'azione di attivare la pergamena.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.